Suggest your candidate!

The Rachel Carson Prize is awarded every two years. Individuals as well as institutions and others are welcome to nominate candidates worthy of receiving the prize. Deadline for nominations for the 2019 award is January 31, 2019.


The prize is awarded to a woman who has distinguished herself in outstanding work for the environment in Norway or internationally.

The Board establishes a prize committee, consisting of 3 women from various societal sectors.


The Prize Committee members for 2019 are:

Fiona Provan, Chief Scientist NORCE (Norwegian Research Centre)
Bente Marie Bakke, Chair Vestby Green Party and group leader for the party in Vestby Municipal Council
Silje Ask Lundberg, Chair Friends of the Earth Norway


The nomination must be well founded and documented, and signed with the name and address of the proposer. The Board will come back for additional information, if necessary.

Please e-mail your proposal to:

Utilize THIS form for your nomination.