WINNER 2017:

Sylvia Earle is the winner of The Rachel Carson Prize 2017

The legendary American marine biologist Sylvia Earle is awarded the Norwegian Rachel Carson Prize 2017 for her groundbreaking work as oceanographer, explorer, author and lecturer. She has a deep commitment to the marine environment and has been at the forefront of research of the vast oceans depths for more than 40 years. She has been given the nickname “Her Deepness” by The New Yorker, “Living Legend” of the Library of Congress and “Hero for the Planet” of Time Magazine.

Sylvia Earle has led more than 100 expeditions and clocked more than 7,000 hours underwater. She was captain of the first fully  female  team  to  live  under  water  in 1970, and with  her  research  colleagues  received  a  reception  at  the  White  House. In 1979 she did a deeper solo dive than any other woman before or since. In the 1980s, she started Deep Ocean Engineering and Deep Ocean Technologies to design subsea vessels for previously unavailable depths. In the early 1990s she worked as Chief Scientist at the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration.

Few   people   have   done   more   to   create   engagement,   strengthen   research   and knowledge, and contribute to a  better marine environment than Sylvia  Earle. She won  the  TED-talk  award  in  2009  and  fights  relentlessly  to  ensure  that  marine conservation areas cover 20 % of the world’s ocean by 2020.

We are proud  to welcome  this remarkable  woman to  Norway and  to Stavanger in October to receive the prize.

The  Norwegian  Rachel  Carson  Prize  is  an  international  environmental  award presented in Stavanger every second year. The prize was founded in 1991 and Sylvia Earle is the 14th recipient of the prize. The prize is awarded to a woman who has made a significant contribution to our physical habitat nationally or internationally. The prize aim to highlight women’s contributions for a better living environment and  inspire  creativity  and  innovation.  It  consists  of  prize  money  and  the  bronze statue “ The Cormorant” by the artist Irma Bruun Hodne.

Prize  committee  of  2017:  Fiona  Provan  (Senior  Researcher  at  IRIS),  Bente  Bakke (Politician for the Green Party) and Nina Jensen (Secretary General WWF).

Board of Directors of the Rachel Carson Prize: Heather Bergsland, Anne Elisabeth Carlsen, Anne Tone Nag Fjermestad, Bodil Lande, Torunn Larsen and Eline Vigre. facebook: Rachel Carson-prisen